One of The Dumbest Things I’ve Ever Done!

Standard

We all do and say dumb things in our lives. Things we either wish we could take back or that messed with our heads at the time, but now we laugh when we think about them. But most of these things are relatively minor.

And then there are the dumb things we do or say that really stand out. That stick to the memories of even the most short-term memory possessors.

Well I recently remembered something I did years ago that truly qualifies as one of the dumbest things I’ve ever done in my entire life: argued with a homeless person.

Let me explain. One night when I was living in the Streeterville neighborhood of Chicago, I decided to visit my family on the south side. So I went to the CTA Red Line train’s Chicago station, southbound platform. While there, a homeless guy approached me begging for money. I usually don’t give money to panhandlers, but this was one of the rare times I did not mind doing so. I gave the man all the change in my pocket, which turned out to be 43 cents. The man was furious. He started berating me for not giving him at least a dollar. Accusing me of being cheap. Now I got mad. He reminded me of one of the reasons why I stopped giving money to panhandlers. So this homeless man and I went back and forth about how I was cheap, and how he should be grateful for what I gave.

After a while, especially when my booming voice started getting louder as I got angrier, I noticed a lot of waiting passengers watching us. Finally I said, “You know what? I don’t have time for this guy!” and just shut up. I let him keep ranting about me, but I walked away. 

Now, let me note two things for the record. Firstly, during our argument, I told him to give me back the money since he didn’t appreciate it. So he held out his hand and I grabbed back 48 cents (five-penny profit!). Secondly, I did not walk away because I was “the bigger man”. I walked away because I realized the futility of arguing with a man who has nothing but time on his hands. 

Also let me mention that I do not now nor did not then have anything against the homeless, nor have I ever. This argument had nothing to do with any personal disdain again the homeless. This was about one squabble I had with one man that I wished I never entered into, and feel I was a fool to do so. I pity the homeless, as should anyone who has a heart.

Years later, I learned of the mental disturbances that are rampant in the homeless community, so I figured the same may have applied to this man. I don’t know. All I do know is the lesson I learned: don’t waste time arguing with people who have nothing but time on their hands!

Leave a comment